Natural Hair Diary: Taliah Waajid Pure and Natural

Hello beauties! Today I am bringing you a review on a pretty great product line for us naturalistas. I had heard of the Taliah Waajid brand but had never tried it for myself so when I saw that my favorite subscription service Cocotique was doing a Taliah Waajid takeover box I had to have it. I had cancelled my subscription about a year ago to save some money so I purchased this box outside of a subscription account. Now this box was sent out back in April but was still available this month and may still be available on the Cocotique website. I paid $20 for the box and $5 for shipping which is a great price considering what was in the box.

 

All of the items in the Taliah Waajid takeover box are FULL-SIZED! Yep you read that right, I got 6 full-sized natural products for $25. This box included:

  • Pure & Natural Shea-Coco Monoi Oil Serum (100% natural)
  • Pure & Natural Shea-Coco Conditioning Co-Wash (98% natural)
  • Pure & Natural Shea-Coco Condition (98% natural)
  • Pure & Natural Shea-Coco Curly Hair Souffle for 3B-4B Hair (98% natural)
  • Pure & Natural Shea-Coco Natural Styling Cream for 3C-4C Hair (97% natural)
  • Pure & Natural Shea-Coco Detox Shampoo & Moisture Madness Masque (97% natural)

20170622_183936

All together this box has a value of about $55.

The first item I am going to talk about is the Detox Shampoo and the Moisture Madness Masque. You can feel the shampoo working on your scalp. It cleanses all impurities and removes build up. When I rinsed the shampoo out I was a bit nervous because my hair felt rough and stripped. I applied the mask after I “dried” my hair with an old t-shirt and covered my head with a plastic grocery bag…don’t judge me I was out of shower caps. Its suggested that you apply heat for 15-20 minutes  but since my hooded dryer broke I just let the heat from my head do the work and left the masque on for an extra 10 minutes. After rinsing off the masque I was much more satisfied with the way my hair felt. It was soft, had nice slip, and felt fuller.

Next I applied the Shea-Coco Condition. It comes in a spray bottle so there’s very little waste and it made detangling a breeze. I followed the leave in with the Monoi Oil Serum. The serum is thick in texture almost like JBCO so a little really does go a long way. It adds shine and reduces frizz. I ended with the Shea-Coco Natural Hair Styling Cream for 3C-4C Hair and put my hair in two strand twists. The cream is like a thick whipped cream and it feels like it will leave a lot of buildup but it doesn’t so I was happy about that.

I did all of this on Sunday and it is now Wednesday. I haven’t taken my twists down because I like to wear them for a while. My hair feels soft, smooth, and moisturized. I have noticed that it is shinier than it is when I use other products. Once I take my twists down I will use the Curly Hair Souffle and see how it does on my curls. Over all I am very happy with the Taliah Waajid Pure & Natural Collection. The only thing that I would change is the fact that the full-sized shampoo and masque comes in a foil packet. I would like to see both of those items in a larger size.

All of the products mentioned can be found here on the Taliah Waajid Website.

Are you a Taliah Waajid fan? What are your favorite products by her?

 

Leave a Reply

