Why I Stopped Using the Productivity Planner and What I Use Instead

20170510_172620

I’m the type of person who likes to write down every single thing that I plan to do. It calms my anxiety and gives me peace of mind. I had been using the once popular Productivity Planner created by Alex Ikonn. Its a system that’s supposed to help with productivity and organization. For a while this journal worked for me but I found the routine boring and honestly I lost interest in the journal and went back to just saving plans, events, notes, etc in my phone. I would come back to my Productivity Planner every now and again and plan out my week but I wouldn’t keep record like I was supposed to. Yes that may be my own fault but the layout of the planner is boring and forgettable. The Productivity planner is great for a minimalist who prefers to keep thing simple and to the point. 20170510_173312

 

What Planning Method Do I Use Now?

I am a creative. I like to design, decorate, and let my imagination take over. This is where the Bullet Journal comes in. Its a simple method of planning created by Ryder Carroll. The great thing about the bullet journal is that YOU decide how simple or how extravagant you want it to be. There is no right or wrong way to go about it. I felt that this method would better suit me because I could do whatever I wanted with it. I searched Pinterest for weeks looking for ideas and layouts and trackers. I was amazed at all the things that could be done with a bullet journal. So I headed over to Amazon and picked out a nice little dotted journal and some fine point pens to begin my journey into the bullet journal world.

20170503_160152

I then ran over to my favorite craft store and picked up a few other items to get me started.

20170510_172933

I am already enjoying the Bullet Journal method more than the Productivity Planner.

20170510_172724

I messed up so many times trying to do the layout for my bullet journal but thanks to Washi Tape It just looks like I decided to decorate the page with some leopard print. I’m sure with time my technique will improve. I cant wait to continue my bullet journaling experience. I have so many things I want to do with it!

IMG_20170503_175428_954

Do you keep a planner or journal? Do you like a more basic layout or do you like to throw some color and creativity into your daily planning?

 

 

One thought on “Why I Stopped Using the Productivity Planner and What I Use Instead

  1. Nicole says:

    I do keep a planner, it’s a fun one I got from TjMaxx that I use only for blogging, well mostly for blogging. I like that it’s more fun and colorful then others I’ve seen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

