The Truth About Being A SAHM

You hear a lot of Moms rave about the fulfillment they get out of being a Stay At Home Mom but do you ever hear anyone talk about how hard it really is?

Being a SAHM wasn’t my ultimate goal growing up. I wanted to be a Writer/Artist/Chef/Doctor who traveled in her free time. As I got older my career goals became a bit more focused and I settled on being a doctor. That didn’t happen and that’s my own fault. I got into some situations that got me off track, you can read about those things here. I ended up becoming a mom at 19 and you guessed it, another career change. I wanted to own my own daycare. I got a job at a daycare which seemed wonderful because I was working and my kids were at the same daycare. The issue with this was most of my paycheck was going right back to the people who were paying me. Can you see how that can get old quick? I ended up leaving that job and eventually I went back to school (after seeing that I had a gift for making handmade jewelry) for business.I finally knew what I wanted to be…The Boss. At the time I was still living with my parents so being a broke college student with two kids wasn’t too bad.

Lets fast forward and get to the point of this piece. The Truth About Being A SAHM. I wont lie I enjoyed being a stay at home mom. I was with my kids all day teaching them there ABC’s and 123’s, taking cute pics of them riding tricycles and scooters, ya know the fun stuff. And since I was living with my family I was never lonely or bored. I didn’t understand why anyone would want to do anything else. A little cooking, a little cleaning, and the kids put to bed by 8 pm. It was a wonderful life…until both my kids reached school age and their appetites, messes, and personalities got bigger.

stressedmom3

My kids are now 8 and 9 and I never thought I’d say this but I hate being a stay at home mom. My house is constantly a mess, the mountains of laundry are impassable, the dishes…oh my the dishes. And did yall know that even at 8 years old little boys cant aim at the huge hole filled with water in the toilet? I say “go clean your room” no less than 10 times a day. I mop the kitchen and 5 minutes later someone has spilled juice all over my sparkly floor. I love my kids and would not trade them for the world but gosh sometimes mommy needs a break. Have you ever felt smothered and lonely at the same time? That’s how it feels to be a SAHM sometimes. You crave adult companionship. I have my fiance but sometimes I want to meet new friends or hang out with the girls. Why not send them to Dads house you ask? If that were an option, believe me honey, I would do that regularly. Sometimes all you want to do is sit in a corner and cry from all the stress of managing a home and kids. That in itself is a full time job that many moms don’t get enough credit for.

stressedmom1

Its hard being a SAHM. Yes there are good days, hell there are great days. Days when the kids get off the bus and pick flowers (usually weeds) from the yard and hand them to you as they rush into the house, like when your child comes home excited about their good grades, the goodnight kisses and just because hugs. Those thing make paying for new uniforms and lost library books, doing 5 loads of laundry, a sink full of dishes, and mopping the floor for the 3rd time that day worth it.

Leave a Reply

