First Impression Friday: Maui Moisture

Hello  Beauties and Happy Friday! First Impression Fridays are back!

Today I want to talk about Maui Moisture, a vegan hair care line that I spotted while at Ulta. I wasnt sure about this product for natural hair but it was on sale so I decided to give it a try. I picked up the Heal & Hydrate+ Shea Butter line  for dry and damaged hair whose main ingredients include Shea Butter, Coconut Oil, and Macadamia Oil. Maui Moisture is made with 100% Aloe Juice and Coconut Water and is silicone free. I purchase the whole Heal & Hydrate line which includes Shampoo, Conditioner, Hair Mask, Detangler Leave-In, and a Raw Oil.

final1490904659823

So here’s the big question: Do I like this hair care line?

I have used the shampoo and conditioner for my last two wash days so that I could give an honest “first impression” of the products. First of all I absolutely LOVE the packaging. Its so cute and reminds me of a natural fruit and veggie drink. The smell isn’t too strong like some products but it’s pleasant smell still. I like that the hair mask can be used as a deep conditioner or a leave-in. The biggest issue I have with this line is that it has NO slip. I like to detangle in the shower with a conditioner and this is really not a good product for that. The shampoo feels “dry” during washing, it doesn’t feel like its moisturizing my hair at all. The conditioner feels the same. The deep conditioning mask is a little better when it comes to slip but it still wouldn’t make it in my top 5. The detangler leave in is great as a leave in but not so great as a detangler. I suggest detangling before using these products. I use it as a daily moisturizer and it seems to be working well for that purpose. The Raw Oil is just like any other oil, nothing to get excited about. I use it to seal after moisturizing . Maui Moisture products don’t leave a lot of build up which is a plus for those who wash less often.

Would I recommend this line to other naturalistas?

I’d say give it a try and see how you like it. Its $8.99 per item and I snagged them when they were on sale buy one get one half off. Its not a huge loss if you don’t really like it. The one item that I would recommend is the Hair Mask. I do love it as a leave in and my curls did seem to have more definition after using it.

I’m going to finish the products that I have but i probably won’t repurchase anything but the hair mask.

Have you tried the Maui Moisture line? How did it work for you?

Leave a Reply

