Who’d Want To Put Acid There??

When it comes to beauty and skincare we sometimes go to extreme measures to get flawless youthful looking skin. We spend hundreds on makeup, cleansers, creams, and tools like the Clarasonic. 

Here’s my skincare battle story.

Like many people at my age at the time I had acne as a teen. My mom gave me Noxzema to combat my breakouts. That did nothing for me. Being the nervous person that I am, I would pick at my breakouts. My hands were constantly in my face. Not good. As a result I have dark spots all over my cheeks and forehead. Hyperpigmentation. As an adult I have tried many products targeted toward hyperpigmentation. I have used the Ambi line, Palmers, and some more pricey creams that promised to lighten my dark spots.

I was always skeptical about the products I used because I only wanted to get rid of my dark areas, no lighten my skin. My black is beautiful, my hyperpigmentation is an issue.

Fast forward to about 3 weeks ago. I was watching on of my favorite YouTube gurus and they mentioned that they were doing a chemical peel. 

Wait you can so those yourself?!?!

I had thought about seeking professional help for my skin issues but I was not prepared to pay those high prices for consultations and treatments. I had no idea that it was possible to do At Home Chemical Peels. It was time to do some major research.

I poured over site after site reading up on at home chemical treatments. I looked into the risks, benefits, types of peels, types of acids, percentages, just everything. I looked at as well as read reviews on peels and finally decided that this is something that I want to try. 

From my research I gathered that I should start with a low level superficial peel. I was looking into 3 different types:

  • Glycolic 
  • Lactic
  • Mandelic

I decided to go with the Glycolic Acid Peel at 30%. It’s a very gentle peel with little to no down time. I purchased Perfect Image Glycolic 30% Gel Peel Enhanced with Retinol and Green Tea Extract. I will be doing the peel once a week at 1 minute per treatment for 6 weeks. I will post my journey weekly. I will do the peels on Fridays and post on the following Monday. 

I am nervous and excited about this because I’ve heard some good things about these peels when used correctly. 

Stay Tuned!

One thought on “Who’d Want To Put Acid There??

Leave a Reply

