Short Rant

Why is self love seen as racism by so many people? I post a picture of a black woman with the caption “black women are beautiful” and I get called all kinds of names. Yes there are women of all races who are beautiful but as a black woman I like to uplift women like me. I want my daughter to know that the color of her skin and the texture of her hair does not make her ugly. Just a quick rant because I needed to get it off my chest.

One thought on “Short Rant

  1. lkeke35 says:

    Its so incredibly important that you teach your daughter that she is beautiful. Every form of media in the world teaches black women, all day, every day, that we are ugly, unloved, unlovable and incapable of giving love. All this is one of the first things we learn as young black women. We are taught that the world hates us and so we hate ourselves.

    Every time you post a picture of a black woman, and name that beauty, it is an act of defiance against a world that seeks to devalue us as human beings. Your self love is a slap in the face of all the constant messaging of how worthless we are.

    Please keep teaching your daughter to love herself. I learned a long time ago if black women don’t love themselves, no one else will.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

